days delayed ()
+ checks in queue
NJ NICS data as of 
 days delayed ()
+ checks in queue
NJ NICS data as of 

NJ Firearms ID Card FAQ

In New Jersey, in order to legally possess and purchase firearms, one must be issued a New Jersey Firearms Purchaser’s Identification Card (also referred to as FPIC or FID). The FID card allows one to purchase rifles and shotguns. A separate handgun purchase permit is required for each handgun an individual wishes to purchase (with a limit of one every 30 days). 

The A4769/S3214 Carry Killer bill recently signed into law changes the application process, fees and requirements associated with obtaining an FID card and permit to purchase a handgun.

$50 for the FID card and $25 for each pistol purchase permit

2C:58-4(f) – Granting of permit or identification card; fee; term; renewal; revocation. The application for the permit to purchase a handgun together with a fee of $25, or the application for the firearms purchaser identification card together with a fee of $50…

Any person at least 18 years of age for a firearms purchaser identification card. 

Any person at least 21 years of age for a permit to purchase a handgun.

In both cases, the person must not be subject to any of the exclusions set forth in 2C:58-4, (c) , 1-15.

The fully online application is hosted on the New Jersey State Police website: https://www.njportal.com/NJSP/FARS

If you reside in a city/town with a local police department, you must use the ORI number assigned to that department. Contact your local police department to verify their ORI number.

If you reside in a city/town with the state police as your police department, or you are an out of state resident, you must apply to the New Jersey State Police.

To apply to the New Jersey State Police, (and to identify the correct ORI number), call the Barracks closest to you to confirm. 

Official ORI number list: https://nj.gov/njsp/firearms/ori-list.shtml

Although the statute requires the issuing authority to make a determination within 30 days, the reality in New Jersey is that applicants experience a wide range of timeframes in receiving their approval. Residents with second-amendment friendly administrators in their municipality may receive prompt responses within the scope of the statute, while others have historically experienced delays as long as three to nine months in receiving their FID card. Complicating this process is the rollout of the new law and communications issues between the State Police and local departments.

2C:58-4(f) – …the licensing authority who, upon determining that the application is complete, shall investigate the same and, provided the requirements of this section are met, shall grant  the permit or the identification card, or both, if application has been made therefor, within 30 days from the date of receipt of the completed application for residents of this State and within 45 days for nonresident applicants. 

If you already possessed an FID card prior to the passage of the new bill, there is no expiration date. If you, however, move to another municipality, you must submit an application to your local municipality to change your address and they will reissue your ID card subsequent to a renewed background check. 

If you are applying for your initial FID card under the new system (or a renewal of a card issued under the old system), it is valid for 10 years, expiring on your birthday.

2C:58-4(f) – A firearms purchaser identification card issued or renewed after the effective date of P.L.2022, c.58 (December 22, 2022) shall expire during the tenth calendar year following its date of issuance and on the same calendar day as the person’s date of birth.

90 days initially. However, the issuing authority may extend it for another 90 days for a total of 180 days.

2C:58-4(f) – A permit to purchase a handgun shall be valid for a period of 90 days from the date of issuance and may be renewed by the issuing authority for good cause for an additional 90 days.

The State Police requires applicants to complete a 26 page electronic training module that is part of the application process.

2C:58-3(c) – In order to obtain a permit to purchase a handgun or a firearms purchaser identification card, the applicant shall demonstrate that, within four years prior to the date of the application, the applicant satisfactorily completed a course of instruction approved by the superintendent in the lawful and safe handling and storage of firearms. 

At the moment, the above provision does not appear to apply to those who are grandfathered FID card holders, unless they are applying for a renewal or change of address.

Instructions for photographs are included in the online application. Digital files are the only method to submit a photograph under the new application process. It is advisable to have these files already prepared in the proper format and ready to upload during the application process.

Passport style color photograph of applicant without wearing a hat or sunglasses is required to be uploaded. Photographs must be passport style – 2 inch x 2 inch with a light background. Application submitted with photograph that don’t meet the requirements may need to be withdrawn. Please note that there are no refunds for withdrawn application.

Supported file types – JPG, JPEG, PNG, TIFF and TIF with maximum file size limit of 5MB. Click on the Upload Photograph button to search for a file to upload.

Yes, if this is your initial application for a NJ FID. Instructions will be provided from the State Police via email after you submit your application.

If you have never been fingerprinted before for firearms purposes, you will need to go for fingerprinting. Follow the instructions/link in your confirmation email to schedule your fingerprint appointment. However, if you have been fingerprinted before for firearm purposes, upon completion of this form and payment, you will have completed both Firearms Application and 212A requirements.

Two. You will also need to provide their emails and phone numbers. References are generally contacted by email to fill out a standard questionnaire. 

2C:58-3(e) The application shall be signed by the applicant and shall contain as references the names and addresses of two reputable citizens personally acquainted with the applicant.

Yes, you will be required to consent to a mental health background check by filling out and submitting Form SP066:

Mental Health Consent Form: https://nj.gov/njsp/info/pdf/firearms/sp-066.pdf

All FID cards and permits are now electronically issued only.

If you have an old paper FID card, and you change address, your new card will be issued electronically only.

All Firearms Purchaser Identification Cards and Permits to Purchase Handguns are now electronic. You will receive access to your Firearms Purchaser Identification card in your approval email. You will receive confirmation of your E-Permits in your approval email and you should provide that email to a NJ retail firearms dealer who will have access to execute your E-Permit.

Siegel/Koons v. Platkin
Oral arguments heard Oct 25
Awaiting opinion from 3rd Circuit of Appeals

You can carry in your car on your motorcycle on private property* at airports* at church in some restaurants* at filming locations