In a state where rights come to die, many are surprised to learn New Jersey now has concealed carry. It is not only possible to apply for and receive a New Jersey Concealed Carry Permit, but thousands have been granted. There is, however, a lot of ambiguity about the process. Here, we provide the info needed to successfully apply and get approved for a NJ CCW Permit.
Visit our NJ Concealed Carry FAQ page for answers to commonly asked questions. Additionally, there are legal battles waging right now over where and how a person may concealed carry in New Jersey. For updates on those battles, visit our New Jersey Carry Killer news section.
Who is eligible for a NJ CCW Permit?
- Any person at least 21 years of age.
- Residents and non-residents of New Jersey.
- US Citizens and Legal Permanent Residents.
- The person must not be subject to any of the exclusions set forth in 2C:58-4, (c) , 1-15.
What documents do I need to apply for a NJ Concealed Carry Permit?
- Driver’s License and Birth Certificate; OR
- Driver’s License and Passport; OR
- Driver’s License and Naturalization Paperwork/Green Card
- 1 Notarized SP-642 Application for a Permit to Carry a Handgun
- 1 SP-066 Mental Health Records Search Consent Form
- 2 passport photos taken within the last 30 days
- Proof of qualification with a certified firearms instructor along with the instructor’s proof of certification
Steps to apply for NJ CCW Permit
- Obtain proof of qualification with a firearm along with the certified firearms instructor’s proof of certification.
- Get two passport photos taken.
- Gather all documents as described in the section above.
- Complete application SP-642 Application for a Permit to Carry a Handgun and get it notarized. It MUST be double sided.
- Fill out references section of SP-642 application and have each of the four references sign it.
- Complete the SP-066 Mental Health Records Search Consent Form.
- Contact local police department or NJSP to make an appointment to submit the application. Submit the application at the time of the appointment.
- Get fingerprinted. In most cases, the law enforcement agency will provide you with instructions on how and where to get fingerprinted. Please note that the background check does not start until the law enforcement agency receives the fingerprints.
New Jersey CCW Permit application commonly asked questions
No. This was the old standard and is no longer required.
Yes, all applicants need to be fingerprinted.
Fingerprinting is typically not done until you’ve handed in your application to your local police department or State Police barracks. In most cases they will give you instructions on how to proceed. More often than not, fingerprinting instructions include setting up an appointment with www.identogo.com
It’s important to follow the instructions provided once you hand in your application.
Applications submitted through a State Police Barracks must be accompanied by a money order in the amount of $200.00 payable to the New Jersey State Police.
Applications submitted through a local police department or municipality must be accompanied by a money order in the amount of $50.00 payable to the New Jersey State Police as well as an additional $150.00 fee paid directly to the municipality.
In-State Residents – Apply to your local police department. If you do not have a local law enforcement agency, apply to your closest NJ State Police Barracks.
Out-of-State Residents – Apply at a non-toll road State Police Barracks closest to your residence.
*In both cases it is highly recommended to call in advance and schedule an appointment to drop off your application.
No. All application submissions must be done in person.